Let me give you the Low Down

For clarity’s sake let’s back up two years.  Although it wasn’t that long ago that I was diagnosed with Small Intestinal Bacterial Overgrowth (SIBO), that’s when I started to suffer the consequences.  To say that it’s changed my life is a bit of an understatement.  SIBO is a gastrointestinal condition under the large, and still medically misunderstood, umbrella of Irritable Bowel Syndrome (IBS).  It’s up for debate what came first, the IBS or the SIBO, but either way I’ve never been the same since.  SIBO is an overgrowth/ imbalance of bacteria in your small intestine.  It comes with all sorts of symptoms that I won’t bother you with.  If you’d like more info on it, THIS is a great resource.  Dr. Chris Kresser has lots of really insightful articles on all things health related actually.

Since this diagnosis, and failure to get any better through antibiotics or other allopathic methods, I’ve turned to food as medicine.  It wasn’t easy, and it didn’t happen overnight.  But I’d argue that not only did it improve my quality of life, but it’s actually a really great way to eat and live.

So I guess my intention in creating this is two fold.  To contribute some alternatives for those of you out there that can’t do gluten, or dairy, or soy, or whatever it may be, and are pissed and confused about what the hell to eat, like many bloggers have done before me. And also to create a sort of catalogue of something I’m really passionate about.  I’ll give you the low down on everything, from stupid simple to intricate that I cook up and think is worth sharing. Here’s a preview to tie you over. Buen provecho.

IMG_4610
subpar asian chicken and zoodles with butternut mash photo
Leave a Reply

