Curried Chicken Thighs

I’m kind of new at this recipe stuff. When I thought of “originals” that I could start with (ie- I no use recipe) this was the first thing that came to mind. I like to make it at least once whenever I have fresh chicken broth in the fridge… I will totally elaborate on how to make your own stock, but that’ll be a separate post.

 

DSC00515
Okay I cheated and have brussels sprout leaves and zoodles in this because leftovers, but you could too

This recipe sort of grew out of when I first realized you could poach chicken in its own stock for added flavor and richness. Then one night I decided I wanted to try and make a non-traditional curry. Like a peanut pad Thai, but like none of the soy, or peanuts, etc. etc. So when I actually sat down to formulate this it was kind of weird. I say that because a lot of base veggies (call them a mirepoix if you want) change depending on what I have on hand. I have also made this with chicken breast before but it wasn’t nearly as good – plus I had to watch it more closely and cook it less.  Feel free to alter it to your own ingredients/ laziness.  I will say the liquid ingredients, curry powder, and Thai basil and chili peppers are key to this though.

This is my first stab at doing a recipe, so I’m just going to go at this how I cook it. It is definitely on the more luxurious side of things that I do. BUT it is by far my favorite way to use chicken thighs. Not to mention is a one pot stop. And even though there’s a laundry list of ingredients this is really rather simple in terms of cooking. So get your mise on and this will be easy.

Vale:

  • Dice your mp and other veg (that’s right I abbreviated mirepoix)
    • 3 medium carrots, ½ stalk of celery in this case.  Shallots, onion, garlic would also go great here!
    • 1 package of mushrooms
  • Get your dry rub on
    • 2 tsp. Curry powder (the one I use has turmeric, paprika, fenugreek, coriander, black pepper, cumin, ginger, celery seed, cloves, caraway, and cayenne – ¡Jesus Christo!)
    • 2 tsp. Thai Basil
    • 1 tsp. Cumin
    • 1 tsp. Turmeric
    • ½ tsp. Chili Powder
DSC00487
explicit spice pic
  • Whip up liquid mixture and incorporate with a whisk
    • 2-3 cups Chicken Broth
    • ¼ cup coconut aminos
    • ¼ water
    • 1-2 tsp. Fish Stock
    • 1-2 tbsp. Almond Butter

 

DSC00488

 

  • Get a 6-8 quart pot and put it over medium heat
    • Add enough olive oil to coat the bottom

While this is going I make a little bit of…

¼ tsp. Ginger

1 dried stalk of Lemongrass

2-3 crushed Thai Chili Peppers (*See Note)

Also this isn’t a step because lazy

  • Throw in your mp – let it caramelize over medium heat for 3-5 minutes
  • Throw in the rest of your shiz (and a pack of chicken thighs) and bring to a boil
    • I like to go chicken, mushroom, dry spice, and liquid ingredients in that order
    • Reduce to low and simmer with the lid on for 35-45 minutes.

DSC00490 DSC00494

Note: 2 or 3 of these “little” Thai chillies will suffice for heat factor. If you decide that they’re so teeny wheeny that you could probably throw like one or two more in there… don’t say I didn’t tell you so. These suckers are CALIENTE (that means hot AF).

Next thing up will be much more simple I promise. Maybe.

Leave a Reply

